For general information only. This independent site is not affiliated with any government, bank or agency. Disclaimer.

Last checked: 27 October 2026

Changing a name or surname, then a new Smart ID

In short. A forename or surname change is done at Home Affairs, not at a bank. Official pages do not all use the same route, the same documents or the same fee, and a new Smart ID is a separate application.

A common question is whether a bank can change the name on a Smart ID, and whether getting married is enough on its own. This page sets out what the Department of Home Affairs (DHA) amendments page, the fees page, the identity documents page, the Births and Deaths Registration Act and the 2014 regulations, and each bank page actually say. It does not copy the passport document list. That list is on Applying for a passport. A lost or stolen card is on Replacing a lost or stolen Smart ID.

The DHA amendments page is headed "Amendments in ID Books & Birth Certificates (ADULTS)". It says the forms it mentions are provided at a Home Affairs office, unless otherwise specified [source]. The gov.za service page lists the kinds of amendment, including altering a forename, altering a minor's surname, and assuming a different surname, and it says to find out more or contact DHA. It does not print documents or fees [source].

A bank does not change the name

On the Digital Partnership page, name changes and amendments to personal details are not yet available at bank branches. Clients who need those services must visit a Home Affairs office. The services that page does list are Smart ID card re-issues (lost, stolen or damaged) and green ID book to Smart ID card replacements [source]. A re-issue because a surname has already been changed is not in the available list, and it is not in the not-yet list.

Standard Bank's own question is whether you can apply for your new smart ID with the bank if you want to change your surname. The answer is no. The bank says it cannot currently assist with change of surname requests, and that you will be required to visit a Home Affairs branch to complete an application that includes a surname change [source].

The same Standard Bank page, in the in-branch list and in the online list, names a smart ID replacement due to marriage or divorce after your surname has been changed at the Home Affairs office [source]. If the ID contains incorrect information, Standard Bank says you must follow the DHA amendment process at one of their offices [source]. Those are three different sentences. This page does not fold them into one.

Bank page read on this checkWhat it namesA forename or surname change
Capitec, article dated 11/03/2026Smart ID replacements only: a lost, stolen or damaged card, or a green ID book replaced with a Smart ID. First-time IDs are not available in branch [source].Not stated by source.
Standard BankIn branch and online: a smart ID replacement due to marriage or divorce after the surname has been changed at the Home Affairs office. The surname-change FAQ says the bank cannot assist [source].The change itself: no. The later card, for marriage or divorce: yes, in the service list.
FNBApply or renew a Smart ID or passport through eHomeAffairs, or replace a lost, stolen or damaged Smart ID with no appointment [source].Not stated by source.
AbsaRenew a Smart ID: book online, book in the app, or walk in [source].Not stated by source.
NedbankThe card shows a surname and first names. Nedbank says DHA officials issue the documents, and that you must check with DHA for the requirements of an ID application [source].Not stated by source.

A surname after marriage or divorce

Four official texts describe a marriage and a surname. They do not use the same words, and this page does not treat them as one checklist.

SourceWhat it saysWhat it does not say
gov.za, apply for an identity documentYou can apply to have your ID re-issued if you are married and want to assume the surname of your spouse, or if you are a woman and want a new ID using any of your previous surnames [source].A section number, a form, a marriage certificate, or a fee. The spouse bullet is not limited to a woman. The previous-surnames bullet is.
DHA identity documents page, Smart ID re-issueA marriage certificate is required in case you have changed status. A divorce decree, if divorced. The fee is R140.00 [source]."Assume the surname" is not in that Smart ID bullet. Changed status is the phrase it uses.
DHA identity documents page, ID book re-issueIf you are married and want to assume the surname of your spouse, you must submit a certified copy of your marriage certificate. The fee is R140.00 [source].A divorce decree in that ID book bullet: not stated. The Smart ID bullet is the one that names a divorce decree.
Births and Deaths Registration Amendment Act 67 of 1997, section 26(1), with paragraph (c) as substituted by Act 1 of 2002No person shall assume another surname unless the Director-General has authorised it. That subsection does not apply when a woman, after her marriage, assumes the surname of the man with whom she concluded the marriage, or resumes a surname she bore at any prior time; when a married or divorced woman or a widow resumes a surname she bore at any prior time; or when a woman, whether married or divorced, or a widow, adds to the surname she assumed after the marriage any surname she bore at any prior time [source, source].A Smart ID, a bank, a fee, or the word spouse. The proviso is worded for a woman. Act 18 of 2010 replaces section 26(2) only. It does not replace this subsection (1) [source].

The gov.za page still says the green ID book is being replaced over eight years starting in 2014, so an application will not necessarily produce an ID card, and that someone who already has an ID will be invited to apply for the card [source]. The identity documents page describes a Smart ID re-issue as an application you can make, including at banks, offices in malls and mobile offices [source]. Both sentences are current pages. A lost, stolen or damaged card is a different re-issue: Replacing a lost or stolen Smart ID.

Assuming another surname

The DHA amendments page, under section 26 of the Births and Deaths Registration Act 51 of 1992, says the reasons referred to in section 26(2) must relate to a change in the marital status of a woman, assumption of a biological father's surname where the father has recently acknowledged paternity in terms of regulation 13 or 14, or protection of a person in terms of the Witness Protection Act, 1998. In the citation that follows, the page writes "Act No. 112 of 198" [source].

Regulation 18(2) of the Regulations on the Registration of Births and Deaths, 2014 (Government Notice R.128 of 26 February 2014, in force from 1 March 2014) uses the same three reasons. Its citation is "Act No. 112 of 1998" [source]. The 2010 amendment says the Director-General may authorise another surname if satisfied that there is a good and sufficient reason as may be prescribed, and shall include the substitutive surname in the population register [source].

What to hand inDHA amendments page, section 26Regulation 18
The applicationForms are provided at a Home Affairs office unless the page says otherwise. This block names Part D of DHA-24, the acknowledgement of paternity, with the new particulars [source].A person of age applies on Form DHA-462 or DHA-196. DHA-24 is not named in regulation 18 [source].
Identity documentsBirth certificate or ID copy of the applicant. Certified ID copy of the applicant. Certified ID copy of the person giving consent [source].A certified copy of the applicant's identity document or birth certificate. A certified copy of the identity document or valid passport of the biological mother or father, or both parents of the child, as the case may be [source].
ConsentAn affidavit from the South African Police Service (SAPS), from the person whose surname the applicant wants to have [source].A SAPS affidavit: not stated in regulation 18(3).
Marriage or death papersNot in the first list. A separate list, if the surname is that of a deceased person, asks for a certified death certificate, and for a certified copy of the father's death certificate, plus consent from a family member and an ID copy [source].Where applicable, a certified copy of the parents' marriage certificate, and a certified copy of the death certificate of any deceased parent [source].
Witness protectionNamed as a reason. A letter from the Director: Witness Protection: not stated in that block [source].Where applicable, a letter issued by the Director: Witness Protection [source].
FeeApplicable fee. A rand amount in that block: not stated [source].Proof of payment of the applicable fee. The rand amount is on the fees page, below [source, source].

The amendments page adds two limits that are not in regulation 18(3). If the applicant is a male and he is married, he may include his wife and the children if they are under 18. If the applicant is a female, she may include her children if she needs them to assume her surname. It also says DHA-24, new and old, is obtainable from Home Affairs [source].

On approval, regulation 18(4) says an alteration under section 24, 25 or 26 is entered in the birth register, and, if the person is in the national population register, included there without erasing the previous forename or surname. The birth-register sentence says "of the minor", although regulation 18(1) is an application by a person of age [source]. Regulation 18(5) says the assumption in subregulation (2)(a), (b) or (d) shall not change the identity number. Subregulation (2) lists (a), (b) and (c). It does not list (d) [source]. The amendments page does not say whether a section 26 change amends the identity number [source].

Changing a forename

The amendments page, under section 24, asks for a certified ID or birth certificate of the applicant. Parents must apply on behalf of minor children, and the page says "16 and 17 years respectively". It states an applicable fee for those minors, and an applicable fee for applicants of 18 and older. It says applicants of 18 and older must be published in the government gazette. A person of age who has already been granted a forename change may not apply again, unless there are exceptional circumstances in a SAPS affidavit, or the first change was while the person was still a minor. The identity number may not be amended [source].

Regulation 16 says the application is on Form DHA-85. It repeats the one-change rule. The affidavit in that regulation is "in the Form of an affidavit". It does not name the SAPS. It also says the identity number may not be amended. DHA-85 is not named on the amendments page in the forename block [source, source].

Publication in the Gazette. Section 27 of the 1992 Act, as printed on gov.za, says the Director-General shall as soon as possible after an alteration or amplification under sections 23, 24(1) and 26(2) has been authorised, cause any such alteration or amplification which relates to a person of age to be published in the prescribed manner by notice in the Gazette [source]. Act 43 of 1998 adds section 27(2): that duty does not apply where the alteration was authorised in the prescribed manner under a witness protection plan [source]. The amendments page states the gazette rule for a forename change at 18 and older. It does not put the same sentence in its section 26 block, and it does not state the witness-protection exception [source].

The 1992 Act PDF still defines a major, or a person of age, as 21, or a person declared a major, or a person under 21 who has contracted a legal marriage [source]. Act 1 of 2002 substitutes that definition: 18, or declared a major under the Age of Majority Act, 1972, or under 18 and married [source]. Regulation 20 says that, for an alteration or amplification referred to in section 27, the full names before the change, the identity number, and the altered or amplified forename or surname must be published in the Government Gazette [source].

A gov.za file of 8 November 2024 contains one notice headed as an alteration of surnames under section 26, and another headed as an alteration of forenames under section 24. Both notices correct earlier notices [source]. This page does not copy anyone's name or identity number from that file. A processing time: not stated in the file, on the amendments page, or on the fees page [source, source, source].

Correcting a spelling

The amendments page has a separate block, "rectification of personal particulars", for a surname and for a forename, both under section 7(2). For a surname it asks for a birth certificate or ID copy, a certified ID of a family member with the correct spelling, a SAPS affidavit of the relationship, and a marriage or death certificate of the parents with the correct surname. For a forename it asks for a birth certificate or ID copy. Both blocks say "applicable fee" and "free if it is a departmental error" [source].

The fees page charges R70.00 for any amendment to the birth register, including noting an adoption, and it excludes re-registration under section 11, which is free. That tariff line does not say the fee is waived for a departmental error [source]. The identity-document re-issue line is separately free where the forename was repeated as the surname because the department did not insist on a surname at the first application, and the fees page says the later re-issue of that document is also free [source]. Which of these lines a spelling correction uses: the pages do not say.

What you pay

Use the row for the page you are reading. The amendments page does not print these rand amounts in the forename or section 26 blocks [source].

Application, in the fees page's wordsAmountA Smart ID in that line
Change of the forenames or surname of a minor (sections 24 and 25 of Act 51 of 1992)R70.00 [source]Not stated in that line.
Changing a major's forenames in the birth register (section 24). Inserting a major's surname is free if the identity document was issued with the forename repeated as the surname, and the later re-issue of that identity document is also freeR140.00 for the forename change [source]The free re-issue is stated for that repeated-forename case only.
A major assumes a different surname (section 26). If the applicant is lawfully married, the amount includes the spouse and any minor children. If the applicant is a divorced woman or a widow, it includes her minor childrenR325.00 [source]Not stated in that line.
Duplicate confirmation of the change of a major's forenames or surname, or bothR70.00 [source]Not stated in that line.
Any amendment to the birth register, excluding section 11 re-registration, which is freeR70.00 [source]Not stated in that line.
Identity document re-issueR140.00 on the fees page, with the two free cases in that sentence. R140.00 on the identity documents page for a Smart ID re-issue and for an ID book re-issue [source, source]This is the re-issue line, not the amendment line.
Standard Bank, smart IDR140 Department of Home Affairs fee. The bank says it is currently not charging a convenience fee [source]The cost answer is for a smart ID. It does not say this rand amount is the section 24 or section 26 fee.

The other bank fees on this site, including Capitec's R10 service fee, are for the Smart ID service that bank describes. They are on Fees and documents. A bank fee for doing the name change: not stated, because those pages do not offer the change. DHA says banks may charge a convenience fee, in the answer that states R140 for a Smart ID card [source].

The new Smart ID

The amendments page does not say that the amendment application produces a Smart ID [source]. The identity documents page describes the Smart ID re-issue as its own application, at R140.00, with a marriage certificate if your status has changed and a divorce decree if you are divorced [source].

Standard Bank will take that later card, in branch and online, when the reason is marriage or divorce and the surname has already been changed at a Home Affairs office. In branch it takes walk-ins, and the "what you will need" line is your green bar-coded ID or your driver's licence. A marriage certificate on that line: not stated. Online, you visit on the appointment date with your ID, and you need the reference that confirms payment and booking. In branch, Standard Bank says you pay at the branch. The cost it states for a smart ID is a R140 Department of Home Affairs fee, and it says it is currently not charging a convenience fee [source]. Collection from that branch, the SMS, and the 12 months Standard Bank states, are on Collecting a Smart ID or passport.

Capitec, FNB, Absa and Nedbank do not name this marriage or divorce replacement. Whether one of those branches will print the card after Home Affairs has already changed the surname: not stated by source [source, source, source, source].

A free Smart ID because the holder is 60 and the reason is a name change: not stated. The free service for a person of 60 on the identity documents page is a conversion from the green ID book [source]. Whether the green ID book is still valid is on Green ID book to Smart ID.

A passport uses the registered name

DHA's travel documents page says passports are issued with the names as they appear in the National Population Register (NPR) at the time of application. Any change of name must be applied for, finalised and recorded in the NPR before the passport application is submitted [source]. Where a passport application can be made, and which bank page names one: Applying for a passport.

The Digital Partnership page still lists name changes as not yet available at those branches [source]. Standard Bank's online list does name a passport, and its surname-change answer still sends you to a Home Affairs branch for the change itself [source].

A child's surname

The fee for a change of forename or surname of a minor, under sections 24 and 25, is R70.00 [source]. Regulation 17 says the surname application is on Form DHA-193, and that the identity number of a minor whose surname was altered under section 25 may not be amended [source]. Act 1 of 2002 says the natural father's written consent is not required where the mother has sole guardianship of the child, notwithstanding section 25(1)(b) and (c) [source].

The amendments page prints separate document lists for a minor's surname, including marriage to a stepfather, divorce, a deceased father, and a guardian. This page does not copy those lists. The forms are provided at a Home Affairs office [source]. A child's first Smart ID, which is a different application, is on First Smart ID at 16. The Digital Partnership page says children cannot apply at those bank branches [source].

Where the official pages do not match

  • Marriage. The 1997 Act, as amended in 2002, says section 26(1) does not apply to the three marriage cases it lists, and those cases are worded for a woman [source, source]. The amendments page and regulation 18(2) say a section 26(2) reason must relate to a change in the marital status of a woman, or to one of the other two reasons [source, source]. The gov.za re-issue page and the identity documents page describe an ID application with a marriage, and they do not mention section 26 [source, source].
  • Who the marriage rule covers. The Act proviso says "a woman" and "the man". The gov.za spouse bullet says "if you are married" and does not say it is limited to a woman [source, source].
  • Documents for section 26. The amendments page asks for a SAPS affidavit and DHA-24. Regulation 18(3) asks for certified identity or birth documents, parents' documents, and, where applicable, a marriage certificate, a death certificate, a witness-protection letter and proof of payment. Neither list includes every item from the other [source, source].
  • The Act citation for witness protection. The amendments page writes "Act No. 112 of 198" after naming the Witness Protection Act, 1998. The regulation writes "Act No. 112 of 1998" [source, source].
  • Gazette. Section 27 covers an alteration under sections 23, 24(1) and 26(2) for a person of age, with a 1998 exception for a witness protection plan [source, source]. The amendments page states publication for a forename at 18 and older, and not in its section 26 block [source]. The 1992 PDF defines a person of age as 21. The 2002 amendment substitutes 18 [source, source].
  • The fee for a correction. The amendments page says a surname or forename rectification is free if it is a departmental error. The R70 birth-register tariff does not say that [source, source].
  • The card after the change. Standard Bank lists a marriage or divorce replacement once Home Affairs has changed the surname. The Digital Partnership page does not list that service, and it does list name changes as not yet available [source, source].
  • Regulation 18(5) cites paragraph (d). The reasons in regulation 18(2) stop at (c) [source].

What these sources do not state

  • A processing time for a forename change or a surname change [source, source, source].
  • That the amendment fee includes the Smart ID, or that updating the register posts a card to you [source, source, source].
  • A forename change or a surname change at Capitec, FNB, Absa or Nedbank [source, source, source, source].
  • That Standard Bank's marriage or divorce replacement is available for a forename change, or for a section 26 surname that was not a marriage or a divorce. The service line says marriage or divorce. The FAQ refuses a change of surname, without that limit [source].
  • A husband's route in the words of section 26(1). The proviso read here is worded for a woman [source, source].
  • Which age an office will use if it reads the 1992 PDF (21) rather than the 2002 substitution (18) [source, source].
  • The steps to change the gender recorded on the register. The gov.za list includes it, and the amendments page has a separate rectification block. This page does not set that application out [source, source].

Back to the home page, fees and documents, booking and walk-ins, and the bank pages: Capitec, Standard Bank, FNB, Absa, Nedbank.