Smart ID at the Bank (SA)

For general information only. This independent site is not affiliated with any government, bank or agency. Disclaimer.

Last checked: 21 October 2026

Smart ID and passport services at South African bank branches

A plain, sourced guide to which bank branches can take your Smart ID (and in some cases passport) application, what to bring, and what it costs.

Two different systems exist.
  1. DHA Digital Partnership (since 9 March 2026 [source]): bank staff process the application through a secure link to DHA. Currently for green ID book to Smart ID conversion and Smart ID re-issues only [source]. DHA's live locator lists the branches [source, source].
  2. Older eHomeAffairs bank branches: apply and pay online at eHomeAffairs, book a slot, then visit a branch hosting DHA for fingerprints and photo. DHA's Gauteng bank-branch page says no walk-ins are allowed at banks [source].

How to book, and where a walk-in is accepted.

Banks at a glance

BankDigital Partnership branches (DHA locator)Walk-in or bookingMust be a client?Extra bank fee
Capitec373 [source]Walk-in [source]Yes, pay from a Capitec account (can open one in branch) [source]R10 (R150 total) [source]
Standard Bank156 [source]Walk-in in branch; booking for eHomeAffairs route [source]Yes [source]None during launch phase [source]
FNB135 [source]Smart ID replacement: no appointment. eHomeAffairs route: booking [source]Yes, active funded transactional account (Smart ID replacement) [source]None [source]
Absa22 [source]Book online, in app, or walk in [source]Yes, Cheque or Savings account [source]Not stated by source
NedbankNot listed in DHA locator [source]Booking via eHomeAffairs [source]; DHA's Gauteng bank-branch page says no walk-ins at banks [source]Payment described via Nedbank app or Online Banking [source]; other options not stated by sourceNot stated by source

Total Digital Partnership branches in the DHA locator on 21 October 2026: 686 [source]. The locator is updated by DHA as branches join [source].

Branches by province

What is available at bank branches

Available under the Digital Partnership: Smart ID re-issues (lost, stolen, damaged) and green ID book to Smart ID replacements [source]. What DHA and each bank say about that re-issue: Replacing a lost or stolen Smart ID.

Not yet available there: passport applications (phase 1), first-time IDs (for example turning 16), late birth registration, name changes, amendments to personal details, complex civic services [source]. DHA has said passports and first-time Smart IDs will be added later [source]. What a first ID at 16 requires at a Home Affairs office: First Smart ID at 16.

Short FAQ

Can I get a passport at a bank branch?

Under the DHA Digital Partnership (walk-in model), passports are listed as not yet available in phase 1 [source]. Some banks still run the older eHomeAffairs model, where you apply and pay online, book, then visit a branch with DHA staff. Standard Bank and FNB describe passports through that route [source, source].

Do I need an appointment?

Depends on the route. DHA says Capitec and Standard Bank allow walk-ins without an appointment at Digital Partnership branches [source]. FNB says no appointment is needed to replace a Smart ID [source]. Absa offers booking online, in its app, or walking in [source]. DHA's Gauteng bank-branch page says no walk-ins are allowed at banks [source]. Steps, and how BABS differs from a bank visit: Booking and walk-ins.

Do I need to bank there?

Per the current bank pages: Capitec (pay with a Capitec account, can open one in branch) [source], Standard Bank (yes) [source], FNB (active, funded transactional account for Smart ID replacement) [source], Absa (Cheque or Savings account) [source]. Nedbank: payment is described through Nedbank Money app or Online Banking; other options not stated by source [source].

What does it cost?

DHA fee for a Smart ID re-issue is R140 [source]. DHA says banks may charge a convenience fee [source]. Capitec states R150 total (R140 DHA plus R10 service fee) [source]. FNB states it charges no additional fees [source]. Standard Bank said it will not charge during the launch phase [source]. Absa and Nedbank extra fee: not stated by source.

Can I apply for my first ID (turning 16) at a bank?

Not at Digital Partnership branches: DHA says first-time ID applications must be done at a Home Affairs office [source]. Standard Bank lists first-time ID issuing through its online eHomeAffairs route [source]. Documents, a parent, and the fee: First Smart ID at 16.

Can children apply at bank branches?

DHA Digital Partnership FAQ: no, children must apply at a Home Affairs office [source]. FNB (eHomeAffairs route): both parents must accompany a child for a passport, one parent for a Smart ID [source]. The first-ID rules: First Smart ID at 16.

What do I bring?

DHA Digital Partnership FAQ: you do not need to bring any documents [source]. For eHomeAffairs bookings, FNB says bring original identity documents [source]; Nedbank says bring your booking confirmation and ID book or card [source]. See Fees and documents. A lost, stolen or damaged card, and where an affidavit or a police report is stated: Replacing a lost or stolen Smart ID.