For general information only. This independent site is not affiliated with any government, bank or agency. Disclaimer.
Last checked: 23 October 2026
First Smart ID at 16
This page is for a first identity document from age 16: who must apply, what to carry, who must come along, what it costs, and whether a bank branch can take it. DHA publishes more than one list, and the lists do not match. The cells below keep each list with the page it comes from. Tariffs in one table are on Fees and documents. Booking a Home Affairs office, which is not the same as a bank visit, is on Booking and walk-ins. A card you already had, including a green ID book converted to a Smart ID: Replacing a lost or stolen Smart ID.
On the identity documents page, the first-time Smart ID heading says that if you are in position of an ID book, your application is a re-issue [source]. That page then lists a copy of the green ID, or an affidavit if it is lost, and a fee of R140.00. People of 60 and older who are converting a green ID book to a Smart ID card are free on that page [source]. This page does not repeat those re-issue rules.
Who must apply, and from what age
- The Identification Act, 1997 (Act 68 of 1997) applies to South African citizens and to persons who are lawfully and permanently resident in the Republic. Section 15(1) says any such person who has attained the age of 16 years shall apply for an identity card, in the prescribed form and within the prescribed period [source].
- The gov.za page for that Act lists one amendment: the Identification Amendment Act 28 of 2000. That Act replaces the definition of identity card, and the transitional section on green bar-coded identity documents. It does not amend section 15 [source, source].
- How many days the prescribed period is: not stated in the Act. The name or number of the prescribed form: not stated in the Act [source].
- Section 17(2): if a Home Affairs officer learns that a person covered by the Act has attained 16 and has not complied with section 15(1), that officer shall take the prescribed steps so that the person applies without delay. What those steps are: not stated in the Act [source].
- Section 18(2)(c): a person who without lawful cause refuses to comply with section 10 (fingerprints) or with section 15(1) is guilty of an offence, and is liable on conviction to a fine or to imprisonment for a period not exceeding five years. The rand amount of that fine: not stated in the Act [source].
- DHA's identity documents page cites the same Act and says an identity document is issued as soon as a person is eligible, from 16 years old and above. It says identity documents are issued to South African citizens and permanent residence permit holders from the age of 16 [source].
- The gov.za service page says that if you are 16 years and older, you may apply for an identity document. It says you will need an ID to register for matric exams, to get a driving licence, or to open a bank account [source].
- Applying before the 16th birthday: not stated by these sources. Each of them starts at 16, or at having attained 16.
- An upper age, after which someone who never applied may no longer apply: not stated by these sources. Section 15(1) has no upper age in its text [source].
The gov.za service page still says the green ID book is being replaced over eight years starting in 2014, so an application now will not necessarily produce an ID card. The identity documents page says a Smart ID card can be applied for at a modernised office [source, source]. The two pages do not explain the difference.
Where the application is made
The identity documents page says Smart ID cards can only be applied for at modernised offices, including banks, DHA offices in malls, and mobile offices [source]. The Digital Partnership page is the current bank walk-in service, and it says a first ID is not part of that service. First-time ID applications, and the example it gives is turning 16, are not yet available at those branches. The answer on the same page to "Can I apply for a first-time ID at a bank branch?" is no: first-time ID applications must be done at a Home Affairs office. Children applying for a first ID, or for any other document, must also apply at a Home Affairs office [source].
A gov.za statement of 22 July 2026 says the Digital Partnership will continue to expand before the end of the year to include adult and minor passports and first-time Smart ID card applications [source]. The Digital Partnership page still lists first-time IDs as not yet available. This page was checked on 23 October 2026 [source].
The office visit itself can be booked on BABS, which DHA describes as a time slot to get into the office, not as a bank booking. Walk-in wording for offices, and the bank routes, are on Booking and walk-ins [source].
People living abroad: the identity documents page says they can apply for ID books at a South African mission or consulate, and that the application is sent to Head Office in Pretoria. A first Smart ID card at a mission: not stated in that sentence. Delivery from abroad takes longer than a local application, because of the logistics [source].
Collection, on that page: a green ID book is collected from the office where the application was made. A Smart ID card is collected at the modernised office you chose when you applied. Specify that office before the application is closed. DHA sends progress and collection messages to the cellphone number captured on the application [source].
Which banks say they take a first ID
DHA's partnership rule is in the first row. Each bank row is that bank's own page, which is not always the same rule. Branch lists are on the bank pages linked in the table.
| Route | First-time ID | Parent or guardian | Fee that source states |
|---|---|---|---|
| DHA Digital Partnership branches | No. First-time applications, for example turning 16, must be done at a Home Affairs office. Children must apply at a Home Affairs office [source]. | Who attends at the Home Affairs office: not stated by source. | That page states a DHA fee of R140 for a Smart ID card, and says banks may charge a convenience fee. A separate first-time fee: not stated by source. The same page says the first-time service is not available at the branch [source]. |
| Capitec | Not available in branch yet. The in-branch service is a Smart ID replacement: lost, stolen or damaged, or a green ID book replaced with a Smart ID. The article is dated 11/03/2026 on the page [source]. | Not stated by source. | The R150 on that page (R140 DHA fee plus R10) is for the replacement it does offer. A first-time fee: not stated by source [source]. |
| Standard Bank, in branch | Who can apply in branch: South African citizens who currently hold a green ID book, or who need a reissue of a Smart ID. A first-time ID is not in that sentence. If you are not eligible, Standard Bank says visit a Home Affairs branch. The same page says you need a Standard Bank account before a smart ID application, and that answer is not limited to the online route [source]. | Not stated by source. | A separate first-issue amount: not stated by source. The cost answer says applicants are charged a R140 DHA fee, and that Standard Bank is currently not charging a convenience fee. It does not mention a free first issue [source]. |
| Standard Bank, online | First-time ID issuing is listed. Who can apply online: South African citizens who are 16 years and older. The online steps say you need an Online Banking profile, and that your country of birth must be South Africa. The visit step says to come with your ID. What that visit requires if the applicant does not yet have an identity document: not stated by source [source]. | Not stated by source. | The same cost answer: a R140 DHA fee, and no convenience fee in the current wording. A free first issue: not stated by source [source]. |
| FNB, replacement | Lost, stolen or damaged Smart ID. A first ID at 16: not stated by source [source]. | Not stated by source. | Smart ID R140, and FNB charges no additional fee. Senior citizens of 60 and older do not pay for their first Smart ID, which is how FNB states that exemption. A free first issue at 16: not stated by source [source]. |
| FNB, eHomeAffairs | FNB says you can apply for a Smart ID or passport on this route, and it asks who visits for a minor's application. The words "first time" and "turning 16": not stated by source. Bring original identity documents, and the examples are a green ID book, a passport, or a birth certificate [source]. | For a minor: one parent must accompany the child for a Smart ID, and both parents for a passport. The age FNB uses for "minor": not stated by source [source]. | FNB points you to the DHA tariff page. An amount on FNB's page for a first ID: not stated by source [source]. |
| Absa | The page describes renewal of a Smart ID. A first-time ID, age 16, and a parent: not stated by source [source]. | Not stated by source. | R140 to renew, paid at the branch. A first-issue fee: not stated by source [source]. |
| Nedbank | Under "How to get your new ID card at the DHA", a citizen takes the barcoded green ID book and, if applying for the first time, also a birth certificate and proof of address. A permanent resident takes the barcoded green ID book and, if applying for the first time, also a permanent residence certificate and proof of address. A separate sentence says you qualify for an ID card if you are 16 or older and a South African citizen who was born in SA. DHA's identity documents page does not add "born in SA", and it includes permanent residence permit holders [source, source]. | If you are younger than 18, a parent or guardian must accompany you. That sentence is in the citizen paragraph. The permanent resident paragraph does not repeat it. Whether a permanent resident younger than 18 must also be accompanied: not stated by source [source]. | The amount for this first application: not stated by source. DHA's first-issue tariff is free [source, source]. |
The eHomeAffairs how-to says you can capture an application for yourself, or for a minor directly related to you, which it describes as typically a minor passport. A first Smart ID for a 16-year-old captured by a parent on that form: not stated by source [source].
Nedbank also says that at the branch appointment the requirements differ for children under 18, and it refers you to DHA for those requirements. Photos for the ID card: Nedbank says you do not bring them, because the image is captured on site [source].
Documents on the DHA lists
Use the column for the place you are actually going. The identity documents page and the brochure are both DHA, and they are not the same list. Neither page says which list an office will follow if you arrive with the other one.
| Item | Identity documents page: first Smart ID | Brochure: youth 16 and above, first Smart ID | ID book, where the office does not offer Smart ID cards |
|---|---|---|---|
| Birth record | A certified copy of a birth certificate [source]. | Birth certificate. The word certified: not stated by source [source]. | A certified copy of your birth certificate or reference book [source]. |
| Parent, guardian or informant | A certified copy of the parents, informant or legal guardian's ID. Who attends is in the next section [source]. | A certified copy of one of the parent, legal guardian or informant's identity document [source]. | Not stated under that heading [source]. |
| If a parent has died | The page lists "Certified copies of a death certificate and (in cases where a parent is deceased)", and a certified ID copy of the deceased parent. The death-certificate bullet is printed with that unfinished "and" [source]. | Death certificate or certified copy if parents are deceased [source]. | Not stated under that heading [source]. |
| Where you live | Proof of residence on the first-time Smart ID list: not stated by source [source]. | Proof of residence where it is available, or provide the residential address [source]. | Not stated under that heading [source]. |
| Photographs | Not stated on this list [source]. | Not stated on this list [source]. | Two identical colour photographs, and a full set of fingerprints in an applicable form [source]. |
| Payment | No payment is required [source]. | Free of charge [source]. | A fee under that first-time heading: not stated by source. The fees page lists the first identity document as free [source, source]. |
Nedbank's DHA paragraph, which is not a DHA page, adds a birth certificate and proof of address for a citizen's first application, and it also tells the citizen to take the barcoded green ID book. A certified copy: not stated by source [source].
Naturalised citizens and permanent residence permit holders: the identity documents page puts that list under the ID book heading, not under the Smart ID heading. It asks for the original naturalisation certificate and a copy, the original permanent residence certificate and a copy, and the original exemption certificate and a copy. Home Affairs certifies the copies. If a certificate cannot be furnished, you must apply for a reprint before the ID book application. Whether those originals are also required for a first Smart ID: not stated under the Smart ID heading [source].
Who must come with the applicant
- Identity documents page, first Smart ID: the applicant must be accompanied by their parent or parents where the parents are alive. It can be one parent, in person. Where the parents are deceased, an informant or a legal guardian should accompany the applicant. The page uses "must" for living parents and "should" for the informant or guardian [source].
- The same bullets do not state an age at which a first-time applicant no longer needs that person. A 16-year-old and an older first-time applicant are not split [source].
- A rule that the parent must sign the form: not stated on the identity documents page or in the brochure [source, source].
- Brochure, youth 16 and above: the list includes a parent, legal guardian or informant's identity document. That someone must attend with the applicant: not stated by source [source].
- ID book heading: a parent in attendance: not stated under that heading [source].
- FNB, for a minor's application on the eHomeAffairs route: one parent for a Smart ID, both parents for a passport. FNB's age for "minor": not stated by source [source].
- Nedbank: if you are younger than 18, a parent or guardian must accompany you. That sentence sits in the citizen paragraph [source].
- Capitec, Standard Bank and Absa: a parent for a first ID: not stated by source [source, source, source].
- Digital Partnership: children cannot apply at those branches. Who attends at the Home Affairs office: not restated there [source].
What it costs
| Source | First identity document | What it does not say |
|---|---|---|
| DHA fees page, marked updated August 2026 | Issuing of the first identity document: free. Re-issuing: R140.00, with two free exceptions that are not a first issue at 16 (a forename repeated as a surname, and a former TBVC document) [source]. | An age limit on the free first issue: not stated on that row. |
| Identity documents page | First-time Smart ID: no payment. Re-issue of a Smart ID card: R140.00. Converting a green ID book at 60 or older: free [source]. | A free re-issue of a lost Smart ID because the holder is 16, or because the holder is 60: not stated. Lost and stolen re-issues are on Replacing a lost or stolen Smart ID. |
| Smart ID brochure | Youth who are 16 and above, first Smart ID: free. Pensioners who are 60 and above, first Smart ID: free. Other citizens, first Smart ID: R140.00. The pensioner list and the other-citizens list both start with the green bar-coded ID, or an affidavit if it is lost, not with a birth certificate [source]. | The brochure does not say that "youth 16 and above" stops at 17, 18, or any later birthday. |
| gov.za service page | If the ID is issued and the personal information has errors, Home Affairs will replace it free of charge [source]. | That sentence is about errors on an ID you have received. It is not the first-issue tariff. |
The brochure's free category is worded "youth who are 16 years and above". The fees page's free row is "Issuing of first document", with no later age on that row. A cutoff after which a first issue starts to cost R140: not stated by source [source, source, source].
A separate first-time fee, or a bank convenience fee, for a first ID at a Digital Partnership branch: not stated by source. That page says the first-time service is not available there, states R140 for a Smart ID card, and says banks may charge a convenience fee [source]. Standard Bank's cost answer says applicants are charged a R140 DHA fee and that Standard Bank is currently not charging a convenience fee. It does not mention the free first issue [source].
The fees page also lists a frame of four black and white photos taken for ID applications at R40.00, and a temporary identity certificate at R70.00 [source]. Whether a modernised office charges the photo frame for a first Smart ID: not stated by source. The temporary certificate is described on Replacing a lost or stolen Smart ID.
Photographs and fingerprints
- The Act says a person of 16 or older shall, at their own expense, furnish two prescribed copies of a recent photograph when applying for an identity card, and shall have fingerprints taken so that they can be included in the population register. Section 15(2) says those two photographs and the fingerprints accompany the application [source].
- The ID book list on the identity documents page asks for two identical colour photographs and a full set of fingerprints [source].
- The first-time Smart ID list on that page, and the youth list in the brochure, do not mention photographs [source, source].
- On the travel documents page, the passport document list says two colour photographs are not needed at Smart ID card offices, because the ID image is captured digitally. That sentence is in the passport section [source].
- Nedbank, for an ID card application: do not bring photos. The image is captured on site at the appointment [source].
These sources do not say which of those rules a first Smart ID at a modernised office uses on the day you go.
Passport, after the identity document
The travel documents page says a person aged 16 or older must first apply for an identity document to enable fingerprint registration before applying for a passport [source].
- An ordinary tourist passport and a maxi passport are for citizens 16 or older. A minor tourist passport is for citizens 15 or younger [source].
- If the passport applicant is under 18, parental consent is required. For a child's passport, both parents and the child must be present, and the page says exceptions apply [source].
- Those are passport rules. They are not the Smart ID attendance rule on the identity documents page, which says one parent in person can accompany a first Smart ID applicant [source, source].
Passport fees and the longer document list are on Fees and documents.
What these sources do not state
- The number of days after the 16th birthday in which the application must be made. The Act says "within the prescribed period" and does not print the number [source].
- The form number for a first Smart ID. The travel documents page names Form DHA-73 for a passport, not for the identity document [source, source, source].
- A school letter, a clinic card, or proof of grade. The gov.za page says an ID is needed to register for matric. It does not say the school must supply a letter for the ID application [source].
- A police report for a first ID: not stated by source [source, source].
- Which of the two DHA document lists an office will accept if you bring only one of them [source, source].
Back to the home page, fees and documents, booking and walk-ins, and the bank pages: Capitec, Standard Bank, FNB, Absa, Nedbank.