Smart ID at the Bank (SA)

For general information only. This independent site is not affiliated with any government, bank or agency. Disclaimer.

Last checked: 22 October 2026

Replacing a lost or stolen Smart ID

This page compares what official DHA, gov.za and bank pages say about replacing an identity document that has been lost, stolen or damaged, including a police report or an affidavit only where that page states it. The tariff list is on Fees and documents. Booking a Home Affairs office, and how a bank visit differs, is on Booking and walk-ins. Branch lists are on the bank pages and the province pages.

DHA publishes two document rules for the same kind of re-issue.

The civic identity documents page says that replacing a Smart ID card requires a copy of the old, lost or damaged card, or an affidavit [source]. The Digital Partnership page says you do not need to bring any documents, and it names Smart ID re-issues for a lost, stolen or damaged card as a service at participating bank branches [source]. Neither page explains the difference.

What the identity documents page requires

DHA's identity documents page says identity documents are issued to South African citizens and permanent residence permit holders from the age of 16. It says Smart ID cards can only be applied for at modernised offices, and that those offices include banks, DHA offices in malls, and mobile offices. A date on the page: not stated by source [source].

Under first-time applicants, the page adds that if you are in position of an ID book, your application is a re-issue. Documents for a first Smart ID at 16, who must attend, and how that list differs from the brochure, are on First Smart ID at 16. The brochure list is also on Fees and documents [source, source].

For a re-issue of a Smart ID card, the page lists [source]:

Those bullets use "lost" and "damaged". The word "stolen" is not in them. A police station, a case number, and the words the affidavit must contain: not stated by source [source].

People of 60 and older who are converting from a green barcoded ID book to a Smart ID card: the page says that conversion is free. A free re-issue of a Smart ID card that was lost, stolen or damaged, because the holder is 60 or older: not stated by source [source].

The same page has a separate list for a green ID book at offices that do not offer Smart ID cards. It says provide an affidavit where the green barcoded ID book has been lost or damaged, a certified copy of the marriage certificate if you are married and want to assume a spouse's surname, and a fee of R140.00. Stolen, in that bullet: not stated by source [source].

The gov.za service page says you can apply to re-issue an ID if the ID book has been lost, stolen or damaged, and for the surname changes it names. An affidavit on that page: not stated by source. The page still says the green ID book is being replaced over eight years starting in 2014, so an application now will not necessarily produce an ID card, and that someone who already has an ID will be invited to apply for the card. The current identity documents page and the Digital Partnership page both describe Smart ID applications as available [source, source, source].

For a name change, the Digital Partnership page says name changes and amendments to personal details are not yet available at those bank branches, and that those clients must visit a Home Affairs office [source]. Standard Bank says it cannot assist with a surname change [source].

What the bank partnership page requires

DHA's Digital Partnership page lists Smart ID card re-issues (lost, stolen or damaged) and green ID book to Smart ID card replacements as the services available at participating branches. Passport applications in phase 1, first-time IDs (for example turning 16), late registration of birth, name changes, amendments to personal details, and complex civic services are not yet available there [source].

How to use a walk-in branch, and how that differs from BABS or eHomeAffairs: Booking and walk-ins.

Affidavit and police reporting

Only the sources in this table mention an affidavit, the police, or both. Where a source is silent, the cell says so.

SourceWhat it statesWhat it does not state
DHA identity documents pageAn affidavit if the green ID is lost and you are converting it to a Smart ID. For a Smart ID card re-issue, a copy of the old, lost or damaged card, or an affidavit. For a green ID book re-issue at an office without Smart ID cards, an affidavit if that book is lost or damaged [source].Police, a case number, and the contents of the affidavit: not stated by source. The word stolen, in these bullets: not stated by source.
DHA Digital Partnership pageLost, stolen or damaged Smart ID re-issues are offered at participating branches, and you do not need to bring any documents [source].A police report or an affidavit: not stated by source.
DHA Smart ID brochureFor a first Smart ID, pensioners of 60 and older and other citizens: the green barcoded ID, or an affidavit if that identity document is lost [source].A police report for someone who already holds a Smart ID card: not stated by source. The full first-issue list is on Fees and documents.
gov.za, what an affidavit isAn affidavit is a written statement under oath. Affidavits are often required when replacing lost or stolen documents, and the examples given are an ID and a passport. An affidavit can be made at any police station, where an officer provides a standard form [source].That DHA requires one for every Smart ID re-issue: not stated by source. A case number: not stated by source. A date on the page: not stated by source.
Nedbank Smart ID pageIf you lose your ID card, report it to the police as lost and apply to DHA for a new card. You pay the cost. Budget for a temporary ID if you will need one while you wait [source].An affidavit: not stated by source. The word stolen, in that answer: not stated by source. The rand amount: not stated by source.
Capitec, Standard Bank, FNB and Absa Smart ID pagesSee the bank section below for the replacement each page does describe.A police report or an affidavit: not stated by source [source, source, source, source].
Vuk'uzenzele, August 2013If you lose the ID after you have applied for a Smart ID card, provide a police case number and an affidavit, and pay the prescribed fee for the new card [source].This answer is about losing the document after the application, and the page is dated August 2013. The current identity documents page and the Digital Partnership page do not repeat a police case number for an ordinary re-issue [source, source].
DHA duplicate identity numbers noticeFor the people named on that notice, if the identity document is lost, attach an affidavit from the police. The notice is about two or more identity numbers, or people sharing one number, and it said those cases were to be resolved by the end of October 2013 [source].An ordinary Smart ID re-issue in 2026: not stated by source. The notice is a different process.

Fee, and a temporary certificate

The DHA fees page, marked updated August 2026, lists identity document re-issuing at R140.00. The identity documents page states the same R140.00 for a Smart ID card re-issue and for a green ID book re-issue [source, source].

The fees page also names cases where a re-issue is free: the forename was repeated as the surname because the department did not insist on a surname at the first application, and a new identity document for a former TBVC citizen that replaces an old document classifying that person as a non-South African citizen. Lost, stolen and damaged do not appear in that free-of-charge sentence [source].

On the same fees page, a lost, damaged or stolen passport, child passport, maxi passport or document for travel purposes is charged at double the current tariff for that document, unless it was stolen, lost or damaged through no negligence of the holder, in which case the normal fee applies. That double tariff is the passport line. The identity document re-issue line remains R140.00 [source].

Bank amounts stated on each bank's own page are in the table below. The wider tariff list, including a first issue at no charge, is on Fees and documents.

Temporary Identity Certificate

The identity documents page says a Temporary Identification Certificate, valid for two months, can be issued at R70.00, and that the application is subject to positive verification of your fingerprints. It does not say a bank branch issues it, and it does not say every lost or stolen Smart ID must have one [source].

The gov.za service page describes a temporary identity certificate for a different situation: the identity document application will not be finished in time to vote. The fee there is R70, and the items listed are an ID number for verification and 2 ID photos. Two months, and fingerprint verification: not stated on that page [source].

A statement of 18 May 2011 says temporary identification certificates are issued when citizens have lost or misplaced their IDs while waiting for a new ID, and that the usual practice was to apply for the certificate at the same time as the new ID. The fee printed on that 2011 statement is R140. The current fees page, updated August 2026, lists the certificate at R70.00 [source, source].

Nedbank tells you to budget for a temporary ID if you will need one. The amount, and whether the Nedbank visit issues it: not stated by source [source].

What each bank says

BankLost, stolen or damagedDocuments that bank statesPolice or affidavitFee that bank states
CapitecSmart ID replacements include a lost, stolen or damaged Smart ID card, and replacing a green ID book. First-time IDs are not available in branch [source].No documents. Bring the green ID book only if you open an account during the visit. The visit is in person, for a photo, fingerprints and a signature [source].Not stated by source.R150 in total: R140 DHA fee plus R10 service fee. You pay from a Capitec account [source].
Standard BankIn branch and online: re-issue for a lost, stolen or damaged ID. A later answer on the same page also includes destroyed [source].In branch, under "What you'll need": green barcoded ID or driver's licence. Online: the payment and booking reference, and the visit step says to come with your ID. DHA's partnership page says no existing documents are needed for a Standard Bank walk-in [source, source].Not stated by source.R140 DHA fee. Standard Bank says it is currently not charging a convenience fee. You need a Standard Bank account [source].
FNBReplace a lost, stolen or damaged Smart ID at selected branches. No appointment for that replacement [source].The replace steps say to visit with your original identity document. A later point on the same page says you do not need to bring documentation for a Smart ID in branch. When you collect, bring original identity documents [source].Not stated by source.Smart ID R140. FNB charges no additional fee. Payment is approved in the FNB App or online banking, not in cash, debit card or credit card in the branch [source].
AbsaThe page says renew your Smart ID, book online, book in the app, or walk in. Lost, stolen or damaged: not stated by source [source].If you booked, bring the SMS or email confirmation. Any other document: not stated by source [source].Not stated by source.DHA fee of R140, paid at the branch. An extra Absa fee: not stated by source. You need an Absa Cheque or Savings account [source].
NedbankIf you lose the card, report it to the police as lost and apply to DHA for a new card. The page also says you do not renew an ID card unless you lose or damage it. Stolen, in the lose answer: not stated by source [source].The eHomeAffairs visit says bring the booking confirmation and your ID book or card, and upload the documents the form asks for. A separate lost-card document list: not stated by source [source].Report the lost card to the police. An affidavit: not stated by source [source].You will have to pay the cost. The amount: not stated by source. DHA's re-issue tariff is R140.00 [source, source].

Capitec

Capitec's article dated 11/03/2026 on the page says the in-branch service is for Smart ID replacements: a lost, stolen or damaged Smart ID card, or a green ID book replaced with a Smart ID card. You pay from a Capitec account. If you have no account, the branch can help you open one, and it must be active with a positive balance before the application continues. If the stolen card was your only identity document, what Capitec then accepts in order to open the account: not stated by source [source].

Branches and the account rule: Capitec.

Standard Bank

In branch, Standard Bank takes walk-ins for a lost, stolen or damaged re-issue, a green ID conversion, and a Smart ID after a surname change that Home Affairs has already done. You pay at the branch and collect from that branch. Online, the same lost, stolen or damaged re-issue is listed, together with a first-time ID and passports, and you visit on the appointment date [source].

Standard Bank says the card typically takes up to 4 weeks, that timelines may be affected by other factors, and that you collect your own ID at the same branch. You have 12 months from the ready notification. After that, the ID is sent back to DHA and it may be destroyed, and a new application is required if it is destroyed [source]. Steps for the online booking are on Booking and walk-ins. Branches: Standard Bank.

FNB

FNB separates a lost, stolen or damaged replacement, which needs no appointment, from an eHomeAffairs application for a Smart ID or passport, which is booked. The replacement is for FNB customers with an active, funded transactional account, who are South African citizens by birth or naturalisation, or permanent residents. Senior citizens of 60 and older do not pay for their first Smart ID, which is how FNB states that exemption. A free replacement of a lost Smart ID because the holder is 60 or older: not stated by source [source].

Branches: FNB.

Absa

Absa's Smart ID page describes renewal: book on Absa's portal, book in the Absa Banking App under Menu then Government Services, or walk into a selected branch. It states the R140 DHA fee, paid at the appointment. It does not state that renewal covers a lost, stolen or damaged card, and it does not state a police report or an affidavit [source].

Branches: Absa.

Nedbank

Nedbank's lost-card answer sends you to the police and then to DHA. It does not say the eHomeAffairs appointment at a Nedbank branch is that application. Nedbank says it sublets space to DHA officials, who issue IDs and passports, and that Nedbank is not otherwise involved [source].

The eHomeAffairs steps, for an application generally, are: create or continue an application, complete the form, upload documents, pay online with Nedbank, choose a date and a participating branch, then visit for fingerprints and a photo. At that step, Nedbank says the requirements differ for children under 18 and refers you to DHA. Later on the same page, under applying at the DHA, Nedbank states a birth certificate, proof of address, and a parent or guardian if the applicant is younger than 18. That later list is compared on First Smart ID at 16 [source].

Branches: Nedbank.

Back to the home page, fees and documents, and booking and walk-ins.