Smart ID at the Bank (SA)

For general information only. This independent site is not affiliated with any government, bank or agency. Disclaimer.

Last checked: 26 October 2026

Applying for a South African passport

This page is for a passport application: where the Department of Home Affairs (DHA) says you can lodge it, which bank page names a passport, what to carry, who must attend for a child, and which fee each official page prints. It does not repeat the tariff table. That table is on Fees and documents. How to book a Home Affairs office, and how a bank visit differs, is on Booking and walk-ins. Notice, place, and any deadline after the passport is ready: Collecting a Smart ID or passport. A first identity document, which a person of 16 or older needs before a passport: First Smart ID at 16.

Official pages do not agree on whether a bank can take a passport today.

The Digital Partnership page lists a passport application during phase 1 as not yet available, and it says clients who need that service must visit a Home Affairs office [source]. The partner-branch page says DHA now offers adult tourist passport applications at participating bank branches, and that the passport service is currently available [source]. A gov.za statement of 26 October 2026 says the Department will shortly roll out passport services through these bank branches [source]. "Will shortly" and "currently available" are not the same tense. This page was checked on 26 October 2026, and it does not choose a tense for you.

Where an application can be lodged

South African passports and travel documents are issued in terms of the South African Passports and Travel Documents Act, No. 4 of 1994, and the related regulations. The travel documents page says an application inside South Africa can be submitted at any Home Affairs front office with live capture (it also says a Smart ID card office), at participating banks, or through eHomeAffairs. For the banks, that page says to refer to the DHA website for a list. An application outside the country goes to the nearest South African embassy or consulate [source].

DHA or gov.za pageWhat it says about a passport at a bankWhat it does not say
Digital Partnership with banksNot yet available during phase 1. Clients who need a passport must visit a Home Affairs office. Children applying for a first ID or any other document must also apply at a Home Affairs office [source].A date when phase 1 ends: not stated by source. An age, a fee, or a document list for the passport it says is not yet available: not stated by source.
Apply through a partner branchThe opening sentence says DHA now offers Smart ID card re-issue and adult tourist passport applications at participating bank branches. The passport section says the service is currently available for South African citizens aged 18 and older, and for naturalised citizens aged 18 and older, applying for a standard or maxi passport. You apply through the bank's own channel (app, website or branch). There is no need to log on to eHomeAffairs. You then visit for identity verification, fingerprints and a photograph [source].Which of the five banks on this site already offer that passport channel: not stated by source. How many pages "standard" means: not stated by source. A minor passport, and a person aged 16 or 17: not in that list. A permanent resident: not in that list. A fee: not stated by source.
Travel documentsParticipating banks are one of the places an application inside South Africa can be submitted. The page says to refer to the DHA website for the list of banks [source].The names of those banks, and whether the list is the Digital Partnership locator or the older eHomeAffairs branches: not stated by source.
9 March 2026, go-live statementAs the system stabilises, throughout 2026, the Department will also enable passport services, first-time Smart ID applications, courier delivery, and applications through banking apps [source].That any branch already took a passport on 9 March 2026: not stated. The first phase described that day is a green ID book conversion and a Smart ID re-issue [source].
22 July 2026, Absa expansionBefore the end of the year, the Digital Partnership will also expand to include adult and minor passports, and first-time Smart ID card applications [source].That the expansion had already happened on 22 July 2026: not stated. The sentence uses "will".
26 October 2026, one million Smart IDsThe Department will shortly roll out passport, first-time Smart ID, and home delivery services through these bank branches. Within a matter of months, five-minute applications for Smart ID and passport services, with the option of delivery to a doorstep, will be available at over one thousand bank branches [source].A branch that already takes a passport on the day of the statement: not named. The Smart ID service it describes as already live is the replacement service [source].

Who may apply, and for which passport

The travel documents page and the partner-branch page do not use the same age. Read the row for the page you are using.

Passport on the travel documents pageWhoValidityTurnaround that page statesTariff that page states
Ordinary tourist passport, 32 pagesSouth African citizens 16 or older [source].10 years. Once it has expired, a new application must be submitted. The word "renewable": not used in this section [source].13 working days [source].R600 for a first issue, or if the previous passport has expired, or if it is valid for less than six months. R1 200 if the previous passport has not expired and is still valid for six months or longer [source].
Maxi passport, 48 pages, for frequent travellersSouth African citizens 16 or older [source].10 years, and the page says it is not renewable. After expiry, a new application [source].13 working days [source].R1 200 for a first issue, or if the previous passport has expired, or if it is valid for less than six months. R2 400 if it is still valid for six months or longer. The later maxi document list prints the fee as R1200 [source].
Minor tourist passportSouth African citizens who are 15 or younger [source].Five years, and the page says it is not renewable. After expiry, a new application [source].18 working days [source].R600 for a first issue, or if the previous passport has expired, or if it is valid for less than six months. R1 200 if it is still valid for six months or longer [source].

What each bank's own page says

A row is only that bank's page. The partner-branch sentence is not copied into a row whose bank does not use it. Branch lists stay on the bank pages.

RoutePassport on that pageHow that page says you startWhat it does not state
CapitecNot stated by source. The article dated 11/03/2026 says the in-branch service is only for Smart ID replacements: a lost, stolen or damaged card, or a green ID book replaced with a Smart ID. First-time IDs are not available in branch [source].The visit it does describe is in person, for a photo, fingerprints and a signature, paid from a Capitec account [source].A passport fee, a passport document, and an age for a passport: not stated by source.
Standard Bank, in branchNot in the in-branch service list. That list is a green ID conversion, a Smart ID re-issue (lost, stolen or damaged), and a Smart ID replacement after a surname change already done at Home Affairs. Walk-ins are accepted for that list [source].Visit a selected branch. No application before the visit. Pay at the branch [source].A passport collected from a walk-in branch: not stated in that service list.
Standard Bank, onlineFirst-time passport issuing and passport renewal are in the online service list, with the Smart ID services [source].South African citizens who are 16 and older may apply for a smart ID or passport online. The steps also say you need an Online Banking profile, and that your country of birth must be South Africa. You apply on the Home Affairs website, pay under Transact, My Bills, Billing beneficiaries, Dept of Home Affairs, then book a specialised branch after payment. Visit with your ID. Home Affairs sends an SMS when the smart ID or passport is ready. Collect it at the selected branch [source].A passport amount in rand: not stated by source. The cost answer on the page is for a smart ID, R140, and it says Standard Bank is currently not charging a convenience fee. The account answer is also worded for a smart ID. A citizen born outside South Africa: the country-of-birth sentence and the "16 and older" sentence are both on the page, and the page does not explain them together. "Passport renewal": the travel documents page does not use that word for the ordinary passport, and it says a maxi and a minor passport are not renewable [source, source].
FNB, eHomeAffairsApply or renew a Smart ID or passport. The eHomeAffairs explanation on the same page says eligible South Africans can apply for a Smart ID or passport [source].Register and pay on dha.gov.za, approve payment in the FNB App or online banking under Government Bills + Smart IDs, book a branch and a time on eHomeAffairs, then visit one of the seven branches FNB lists. Bring original identity documents. For a minor, both parents accompany the child for a passport [source].The age FNB uses for a minor, and for the passport applicant: not stated by source. An amount in rand: the apply-or-renew answer points you to the DHA tariff page. An extra FNB fee on that answer: not stated by source. The "no additional fees" sentence is in the Smart ID replacement answer [source].
FNB, Smart ID replacementThe heading is a lost, stolen or damaged Smart ID. A passport: not stated under that heading [source].No appointment. The visit is for the Smart ID [source].A passport walk-in: not stated by source.
AbsaNot stated by source. The page describes renewal of a Smart ID: book online, book in the Absa Banking App, or walk in [source].The steps on the page are for that Smart ID renewal. You pay at the branch [source].A passport fee, a passport document, and an age: not stated by source.
NedbankNedbank says DHA officials issue IDs and passports at the branches where Nedbank sublets space, and that Nedbank is not otherwise involved [source].The numbered steps are for a smart ID card: apply on eHomeAffairs, upload documents, pay online with Nedbank, choose a date and a branch, visit for fingerprints and a photo, then collect the card when an SMS arrives [source].A passport form, a passport fee, and a passport document list: not stated in those steps. The collect step says "card". Nedbank is not in the DHA Digital Partnership locator [source, source].

Standard Bank's online booking answer says payment must be made within 45 days of the application, or the application is automatically cancelled. The question does not say the 45 days are only for a Smart ID. A refund after payment: the same page says cancellations and refunds cannot be processed once payment has been completed, and that sentence is under the smart ID questions [source].

FNB says payments cannot be made in branch by cash, debit card or credit card. That sentence is in the eHomeAffairs section, which is the section that names a passport [source]. Under "DHA at FNB branches", FNB says you must be a South African citizen by birth or naturalisation, or a permanent resident, and an FNB customer with an active, funded transactional account. That block also says to get a Smart ID or passport. DHA's travel documents page does not issue a tourist passport to a permanent resident. It issues a document for travel purposes, described below. FNB does not say which of those documents a permanent resident receives [source, source].

The older eHomeAffairs bank lists, and the live locator, are on the bank pages and the province pages. This page does not turn those branch rows into passport branches. The locator page does not say that every listed branch takes a passport [source].

Documents for an adult application

This is the ordinary tourist list on the travel documents page. The maxi list uses the same documents and prints its own fee. Items the page does not mention are marked.

ItemOrdinary tourist passportMaxi passport
FormForm DHA-73, to be provided by a Home Affairs office [source].Form DHA-73, obtainable from a Home Affairs office [source].
IdentityYour original identity document and a copy, or a birth certificate and a copy if you are under 16 [source].The same sentence [source].
Under 18Parental consent. The page points to the section for persons 15 or younger [source].The prescribed consent by parents, and the same pointer [source].
From abroadForm DHA-529, determination of citizenship, to be provided by the Home Affairs office [source].Form DHA-529, obtainable from a Home Affairs office, when applying from abroad [source].
Passport you already havePresent any existing valid tourist passport. If it has been lost or stolen, a loss-of-passport report (DHA-335, from a Home Affairs office) and confirmation that you reported the loss to the police, which the page calls an affidavit [source].The same two routes: present the valid passport, or DHA-335 and a police affidavit if it was lost or stolen [source].
PhotographsTwo colour photographs that comply with the Passport and ID Photograph Specifications. Not needed at Smart ID card offices, because the image is captured digitally [source].Two colour photographs to the same specifications. Not needed at Home Affairs offices where the process is automated [source].
Fee printed on this listR600. The type section, above, is where the six-month tariff is printed [source].The document list prints R1200. The type section prints R1 200 or R2 400 [source].

A damaged passport on this document list: not stated by source. The fees page, in the next section, does use the word damaged [source, source].

The photograph measurements, the background colour, and the file size: not printed on the travel documents page. The page only says the photographs must comply with the specifications [source].

Whether the "not needed at a Smart ID card office" photograph exception also covers a bank branch: not stated in that bullet. Standard Bank and FNB say the photograph is taken at the branch for the visit they describe [source, source, source].

An affidavit, where the travel page asks for one, is a written statement under oath. gov.za says an affidavit can be made at any police station. A case number: not stated on the travel documents page or on that affidavit page [source, source].

A child, and consent under 18

Parents and children must each complete a separate application form. Both parents and the children must be present when applying for passports for children. The page says to see the exceptions under tourist passports for persons under 16. Both parents must have their identity documents, and an original or a certified copy of the child's birth certificate [source].

The same general section also says [source]:

The later section, for persons 15 or younger, is more specific, and it does not say that it replaces the general section. Both are on the same page [source].

For a minor tourist passport, persons 15 or younger, the travel documents page says [source]:

FNB, for a minor on the eHomeAffairs route: both parents must accompany the child for a passport, and one parent for a Smart ID. The age of that minor: not stated by source [source].

The Digital Partnership page says children cannot apply at those branches [source]. The partner-branch passport list starts at 18 [source].

The general section's consent or affidavit, and the later note that a letter of consent and an ID copy are no longer accepted, are both printed. The page does not say which sentence an office will follow if you arrive with only a letter [source].

What you pay

Use the row for the page you are reading. A figure on one row is not the cashier's answer on another. The identity-document tariffs, including the R140 re-issue, stay on Fees and documents.

SituationAmount the source statesSource
Adult passport, on the fees pageR600.00Fees page, marked updated August 2026 [source].
Child passport, on the fees pageR600.00The same fees page [source].
Maxi tourist passport, 48 pages, on the fees pageR1200.00The same fees page [source].
Previous passport still valid for six months or longerOrdinary R1 200. Maxi R2 400. Minor R1 200. A first issue, an expired passport, or a passport valid for less than six months stays on the lower tariff in the type section [source].Travel documents page. DHA's fees page does not print this six-month sentence. The lower amounts are already in the table on Fees and documents [source, source].
New-format tourist passport that runs out of blank visa pages before the expiry datesR600.00Fees page. The travel documents page does not use this sentence. If the passport is also still valid for six months or longer, neither page says which tariff applies [source, source].
Lost, damaged or stolen passport, child passport, maxi passport, or document for travel purposesDouble the current tariff, unless it was stolen, lost or damaged through no negligence of the holder, in which case the normal fee applies [source].Fees page, referring to regulation 16 of the 1996 regulations. The travel document list asks for DHA-335 and a police affidavit when a passport is lost or stolen. It does not mention the double tariff. Damaged, on that document list: not stated by source [source, source].
Application at a mission, embassy or consulateAdult passport R1200.00. Child passport R1200.00. Maxi R2400.00. Emergency travel certificate (BI-123) R140.00 [source].Fees page, for applications made outside the Republic. Whether the six-month rule also doubles these mission amounts: not stated by source [source, source].
Document for travel purposes (BI-105)R600.00Fees page. The travel documents page describes who receives this document. It does not print BI-105 or the rand amount [source, source].
A bank's own passport feeNot stated by Capitec, Standard Bank, FNB's apply-or-renew answer, Absa, or Nedbank. The Digital Partnership page says banks may charge a convenience fee, in the answer that states R140 for a Smart ID card, and that page lists a passport as not yet available [source, source, source, source, source, source].Each bank page, and the Digital Partnership page.

Temporary passports, and an emergency certificate

DHA's notice, and the travel documents page, say temporary passports are no longer issued, from 1 September 2014. The notice gives the reasons as refusals of entry on a temporary passport, a shorter turnaround for the 10-year passport, and abuse. The travel documents page states the date and points to that notice [source, source].

Both pages say an emergency travel certificate (ETC) is what can be issued instead, and only for emergency travel [source, source]:

The travel documents page adds a limit the notice does not: you can only travel from the country where the ETC is issued to South Africa, which that page calls the country of origin [source]. The notice does not print that return-only sentence [source].

The only ETC amount on the fees page is R140.00, and it sits in the table of fees at missions. An ETC fee inside South Africa: not stated in that table [source].

The fees page still lists, at R600, an official passport (including an official emergency passport) or a crew member certificate, and a temporary passport issued for official purposes. It does not say that temporary-passport line has been withdrawn [source].

Other travel documents

These are not the tourist passport the bank pages discuss. They are on the travel documents page so that a permanent resident, an official, or a crew member is not sent to the tourist list.

DocumentWho the travel page says it is forWhat it asks forA bank page in this guide
Document for travel purposesSouth African permanent residence permit holders who cannot get a travel document from their country of origin. Valid for five years. Refugees who were granted permanent residence as refugees do not need written confirmation from the country of origin. Everyone else in this category does [source].A passport application form from a Home Affairs office. The written confirmation, unless the refugee exception applies. If under 18, the consent described for a person under 16. The permanent residence permit and a copy. The original South African non-citizen identity document and a copy. Two colour photographs, not needed where capture is automated. The prescribed fee [source]. The fees page lists BI-105 at R600.00 [source].Not stated by source. The partner-branch passport list does not name permanent residents [source, source, source, source, source, source].
Official passportOfficials attached to government institutions who travel on official business. Valid for five years [source].A form from a Home Affairs office, the original identity document and a copy, a letter on the institution's letterhead signed by the head or a delegate, photographs unless capture is automated, and the existing official passport or a DHA-335 and a police affidavit if it was lost or stolen. The applicant also signs an undertaking about official use and safe keeping [source]. The fees page lists an official passport at R600 [source].Not stated by source [source, source, source, source, source].
Diplomatic passportAdministered by the Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO). Enquiries go to the Protocol Section at DIRCO [source].A document list: not stated on the travel documents page. The fees page lists a diplomatic passport at R600 [source, source].Not stated by source [source, source, source, source, source].
Crew member certificateSouth Africans who are crew on an airline registered in South Africa [source].A form from a Home Affairs office, the original identity document and a copy, photographs unless capture is automated, and a letter from the employer [source]. The fees page lists a crew member certificate at R600.00 [source].Not stated by source [source, source, source, source, source].

What these sources do not state

Back to the home page, fees and documents, booking and walk-ins, and the bank pages: Capitec, Standard Bank, FNB, Absa, Nedbank.